skip to content
Government of Western Australia - Department of Fisheries

Biofouling Inspectors

Biofouling Inspectors assist with invasive marine species (IMS) inspections of vessels, the creation of biofouling management plans, and providing other marine biosecurity advice to vessel managers and stakeholders.

Biofouling Inspectors are highly specialised professionals. To provide guidance and standards on what is expected of inspectors, the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development (DPIRD) has developed three documents (below): DPIRD considers these to be the best practice approach for all IMS inspections.  The use of a suitably qualified person provides DPIRD with a level of confidence that a vessel’s risk has been appropriately managed to a low/acceptable level. This can minimise potential delays to vessel mobilisations.

  1. Guidance statement - Criteria for Suitably Qualified Biofouling Inspectors:
    This document outlines the criteria DPIRD use to approve a suitably qualified Biofouling inspector as required by relevant ministerial conditions under the Environmental Protection Act 1986.

    The following is a list of individuals/organisations considered to be suitably qualified to undertake vessel biofouling inspections:
    ​Craig Astbury ​ castbury@iinet.net.au
    Bill ​ Bardsley ​ bill.bardsley@hotmail.com
    Ashley ​ Couttts ​ acoutts@biofoulingsolutions.com.au
    Kim ​ Grey ​ kim@kimgreymarine.com.au
    Nick ​ Gust ​ ngust@biofoulingsolutions.com.au
    Robert ​ Hilliard ​ rhilliard@imco.com.au
    Jeremy ​ Lane ​ jlane@biofoulingsolutions.com.au
    John ​ Lewis ​ jlewis@eslinkservices.com.au
    Patrick ​ Lewis ​ plewis@biofoulingsolutions.com.au
    Dan ​ McClary ​ djmcclary@gmail.com
    John ​ Polglaze ​ john.polglaze@pgmenviro.com.au
    Rene ​ Reinfrank ​ reinfrank2000@yahoo.com.au
    Michael ​ Sierp ​ msierp@aquaticbiosecurity.com
    Fred ​ Wells ​ enzer.marine@iinet.net.au
     
     
  2. Guidance Statement - Biofouling Inspection Report requirements:
    This document outlines the minimum requirements DPIRD needs to consider an IMS inspection report valid for the purposes of assessing a vessel for IMS risk.
  3. Guidance Statement - Best practice guidelines for IMS Inspections:
    This document provides guidance on the best practice requirements for conducting an IMS inspection. This includes conducting pre-inspection likelihood analyses of where IMS may be found on vessels, inspecting internal seawater systems and other niches, and being able to identify suspected IMS and collect samples appropriately.

For further advice, please email aquatic.biosecurity@dpird.wa.gov.au

Last modified: 26/10/2020 11:21 AM

wa.gov.au

© All contents copyright Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved. ABN: 18 951 343 745

Copyright

© This work is copyright. You may display, print or reproduce this material only in an unaltered format for your personal or non-commercial use, or for use within your organisation. Apart from any use permitted under the Copyright Act 1968, all other rights are reserved.

Disclaimer

The information and advice provided by the Department of Fisheries website is made in good faith and is from sources believed to be reliable and accurate at the time of release onto the website. Changes in circumstances after a document is placed on the website may affect the accuracy of the information. Full disclaimer details are available at www.fish.wa.gov.au.