skip to content
Government of Western Australia - Department of Fisheries

Large pelagic finfish

Moderate vulnerability​, Pelagic finfish normally inhabit the surface or the middle depths of the ocean.
The bag and size limit table below is effective from 1 February 2013, as part of the new Statewide Recreational fishing guide. If fishing from a boat ensure you are familiar with the Recreational Fishing From Boat licence rules.

Bag and size limits

​TOTAL mixed species daily bag limit per fisher 3

Total mixed species daily bag limit:

This is the combined number of large pelagic finfish you can take.

For example, 3 fish = 2 Spanish mackerel and 1 Mahi Mahi OR 3 Spanish mackerel OR 2 Mahi Mahi and
1 yellowfin tuna.

Minimum legal size​​
Amberjack illustration
Seriola dumerili​
600 mm​
Samson fish illustration
Samson fish
Seriola hippos​
600 mm​
Yellowtail kingfish illustration
Yellowtail kingfish
Seriola lalandi​
600 mm​
Barracuda illustration
Sphyaena barracuda​
Barracouta illustration
Thyrsites atun​
Cobia illustration
Rachycentron canadum​
750 mm​
Gemfish illustration
Rexea solandri​
Grey mackerel illustration
Mackerel, grey (broad barred)
Scomberomorus semifasciatus​
750 mm​
School mackerel illustration
Mackerel, school
Scomberomorus queenslandicus​
500 mm​
Shark mackerel illustration
Mackerel, shark
Grammatorcynus bicarinatus​
500 mm​
Spanish mackerel illustration
Mackerel, Spanish
Scomberomorus commerson​
900 mm​
Spotted mackerel illustration
Mackerel, spotted
Scomberomorus munroi​
500 mm​
Mahi Mahi illustration
Mahi Mahi (dolphinfish)
Coryphaena hippurus​
500 mm​
Marlin illustration
Family Istiophoridae
Individual species daily
bag limit = 1​

(Pictured: Blue marlin)

Sailfish illustration
Istiophorus platypterus​
Individual species daily
bag limit = 1
Swordfish illustration
Family Xiphiidae
Individual species daily
bag limit = 1​​
Gummy shark illustration
Sharks and rays
Class Chondrichthyes

(Pictured: Gummy shark)

West and South Coast bioregions: Whaler sharks
max. size 700 mm
(interdorsal fin length)
​ ​
Whaler sharks: ‘Interdorsal fin length’ is the measurement from the front of the first dorsal fin to the insertion of the second (rear) dorsal fin. Due to concentrations of heavy metals, large sharks over this length are unsuitable for human consumption.
Common whaler shark species include dusky shark, bronze whaler, bull shark and tiger sharks.
Whaler shark illustration
Giant trevally illustration
Trevally, giant
Caranx ignoblis​
Golden trevally illustration
Trevally, golden
Gnathanodon speciosus​
Big eye tuna illustration
Tuna, big eye
Thunnus obesus​
Dogtooth tuna illustration
Tuna, dogtooth
Gymnosarda unicolor​
Tuna longtail
Tuna, longtail
Thunnus tonggol
Mackerel tuna illustration
Tuna, mackerel
Euthynnus affinis​
Northern bluefin tuna illustration
Tuna, northern bluefin
Thunnus orientalis​
Skipjack tuna illustration
Tuna, skipjack
Katsuwonis pelamis​
Southern bluefin tuna illustration
Tuna, southern bluefin
Thunnus maccoyii​
Yellowfin tuna illustration
Tuna, yellowfin
Thunnus albacares​
Wahoo illustration
Acanthocybium solandri​
900 mm​
​​Tables detailing limits for each catetgory can also be accessed through the links below:
  • Pelagic finfish​

Illustrations © R. Swainston/

Last modified: 26/05/2014 12:46 PM

© All contents copyright Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved. ABN: 18 951 343 745


© This work is copyright. You may display, print or reproduce this material only in an unaltered format for your personal or non-commercial use, or for use within your organisation. Apart from any use permitted under the Copyright Act 1968, all other rights are reserved.


The information and advice provided by the Department of Fisheries website is made in good faith and is from sources believed to be reliable and accurate at the time of release onto the website. Changes in circumstances after a document is placed on the website may affect the accuracy of the information. Full disclaimer details are available at